Groups for PIs (for Enterprise)

The following information is only applicable to users on an Enterprise instance of RSpace.

For you to be PI of a LabGroup within RSpace Enterprise, the System Admin of your deployment must either create you as a user and allocate your PI status at that time, or you may be created as a basic user and be upgraded to PI by the Admin at a later date. Either way, the admin should also create the LabGroup you are to be in charge of at the same time as creating your PI role. you will be informed by the System Admin of the role and group creation.

When you log in for the first time as PI of a group, you will see the Workspace pretty much as other users see it. The most significant change is if you click the ‘My RSpace’ tab, you will go by default to the group page of your LabGroup:

newGroupPI

Compared to the ‘Users’ view of a group page (which simply lists the group information and members), the PI has significantly more functionality to manage the group and its membership. In the main list of the group’s members, the PI has a ‘Documents’ column which facilitates a direct link (where available) to view each individual’s home folder in your Workspace, and therefore to access all of their work. Each individual’s row also has a ‘Change Role’ button, where they can be promoted or demoted from/to Lab Admin status – effectively allowing delegation of PI administrative duties to others within the lab. The Lab Admin can be either permitted to view other members’ work, or not. Finally, individuals can easily be removed from the group.

The group itself can be renamed or have profile information published, and a single button facilitates one-click export of all work by the entire membership of the group.

Inviting New Members

In a block to the bottom right of the PI’s group page view, there is a mechanism to invite new members to the LabGroup. Available users – which are simply the users in your group’s Community – are listed in a scrolling list. Select as many users as you wish to invite by Ctrl-clicking them, then send click the ‘Go’ button to send the invites. Users are added to the group when they accept the invitation, and you are informed of their acceptance.


How did we do?


Powered by HelpDocs

Powered by HelpDocs